Tyler Hansbrough: Pitchman

A friend recently asked me if I’d seen the new commercial with Tyler Hansbrough and a lost puppy. My immediate reaction was: “How did Tyler Hansbrough end up in a commercial?”

Sure enough, as I was watching the Georgia Tech-Miami game on Thursday, I saw this ad for AT&T:

A couple of thoughts occurred to me as I saw this:

  • Hansbrough was a great college player at North Carolina, but unless Michael Jordan decides to throw him a bone, this will be the last time he stars in a national TV ad.
  • It’s safe to say Hansbrough is no Steve Nash:
6 Responses to Tyler Hansbrough: Pitchman

  1. Jimmy Ryals says:

    As will be the case in the NBA, Hansbrough was a role player in this ad, rather than the main attraction.

  2. James C. says:

    Good Lord, Steve Nash crushed it! Are all Canadian point guards that funny on camera?!?!

    As for Tyler, yeah, I knew his sponsorship abilities were limited when I saw his ad urging Pacer fans to purchase season tickets earlier this summer. It was a trainwreck. AT&T wisely gave Tyler a non-speaking role in this commercial.

    Maybe that could be his shtick…he could be the Teller to some else’s Penn.

    • Jimmy Ryals says:

      I’m not just saying this because I have a huge mancrush on Steve Nash: He’s the funniest athlete in major pro sports.

  3. James C. says:

    Wow. Those were EPIC.

    Steve Nash just became my favorite Canadian!

Leave a Reply

